If only I had something to wear

It’s been a very long time since I’ve been invited to a party. It’s been even longer since I’ve been able to attend one. So, it is with much enthusiasm that I am taking part in the Ultimate Blog Party from 5 minutes for mom. It’s my kind of party, because I can just stay home. Like my mom used to say, “Let’s not and say we did.”

If you’re attending this party, welcome. This is my blog, which is nearly as new to me as it is to you. It’s only purpose for the moment is to share the little joys and messes in my life, abandoned on an island with two kids.

We live in Hawaii. My husband, The Cat in the Hat, is in the navy, and they (the navy) saw fit to bring us here (far from family and friends) during the childbearing years of our marriage. And then they decided that wasn’t providing enough comic relief, so they’ve sent my husband out to sea for the majority of our time here. Bills, birthdays, and births, I do it all alone. (FYI: He was here for the conception.) But now at least I have somewhere to blog about it. (NFYI: I won’t be blogging about the conception.)

I promise, this won’t be my last party post this week. Tune in later for my solo battles with my children (Thing 1 and Thing 2), cockroaches and island fever. And, what’s a party without music? You won’t want to miss a special upcoming post, a song sung by Me.

Please, be a social butterfly and visit the other partiers. Just be sure to come back and check in with me from time to time. I hate standing in the corner alone. Plus, cockroaches and bad songs — how can you resist?)

And please, if you make a mess, remember: Somebody has to clean that up.

** 

ETA: Really, I can follow directions. See this post for my top prize picks.

19 Responses to “If only I had something to wear”

  1. Carmen Says:

    Welcome to the party! Now that you’re here, let’s get this party started! There are so many new folks to meet. What a pleasure indeed!

    Peek in on us at GraceFULL Days & say hi before you go! Skip over the Vicks Caring Tributes & vote for my Gracie Cakes story as one of their finalists~ Thanks in advance. http://videos.vickscaringtributes.com/videos/index.html

    GraceFULL blessings to you & yours~

    Carmen
    cltgrace@gmail.com

  2. acupofjoy Says:

    I’m inviting you to party with me!

    Win some chocolate from my-sister-in-law and I…we blog about CHOCOLATE…me from Australia…and her from Michigan. Here’s the link: http://thechocolistas.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    What am I doing in Australia? I married an Aussie…and moved to Brisbane, leaving my family and friends and all the right-side-of-the-road drivers in America.

    Win a handmade pocket place mat from my blog Comfort Joy Designs. Here’s the link:
    http://comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Want to know more about life in Australia? Visit my A Cup of Joy site where I keep up with my family and friends in America. Here’s the link:
    http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/

    Happy Partying!

  3. Lesley Says:

    Hi, thanks for having me to your party. I cleaned up after myself before I left. 🙂 Have a great day. Hope to see you at my party.

    Lesley
    http://www.pillowcasetalk.blogspot.com

  4. Ivan Girl Says:

    hey, welcome to the party and hope you’re having a blast. Do call me Ivan Girl and I’m from Manila, Philippines.

    Pleased to meet you! Will definitely visit you again.

    Do stop by my blog and join me for the party… 🙂
    http://ivan-ulrich.blogspot.com/2008/03/ubp-2008.html

    Have Fun!

    PS. hope your son gets well.

  5. Carey Says:

    Welcome to the party! Its so nice to “meet” you. Stop on by my place if you get a chance.

  6. We are THAT family Says:

    Welcome to the party! Great blog . . . Come visit mine when so we can meet and PARTY ON! Hawaii—WOW!

  7. Doreen Orion Says:

    WOW. The only thing keeping me from feeling totally and completely bad for you is that you’re having to keep it all together – in Hawaii. That said, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. Elizabeth...mommy...etc Says:

    hello…from one social butterfly to another! *elizabeth

  9. Brenda Prentice Says:

    You are hilarious! I feel for ya, though. I do not know how military wives do it. Seriously! Look forward to reading more.

    http://timeandseason.blogspot.com

  10. jenni at talking hairdryer Says:

    Have a great time at the party!

  11. Beckie Says:

    Awww…. Thing one and thing two.
    HAPPY PARTY!!
    Blessings, Beckie :o)

  12. Linda Says:

    Welcome to the party!!!

  13. Jocelyn D Says:

    Hi! Happy partying on UB! 🙂
    I’m inviting you over to Hip Mama’s Place for cool, fab giveaways for moms, a fun message board, and a blog directory to list your blog.

    http://www.hipmamasplace.com

    Thanks! 🙂

  14. Heidi Says:

    Nice to meet you. 🙂 I am very jealous that you are in Hawaii. I am NOT jealous of your cockroaches. Ick.
    I’m not much of a social butterfly, but I am trying to be better! 🙂
    Happy partying!

  15. First check! « Sort of Working At Home Mostly Mom Says:

    […] Sorry, I haven’t been posting here much lately. I’ve been busy partying over at my other blog. That, and caring for two small children while my husband’s away, has left me bone- and […]

  16. hljourney Says:

    It’s been great partying with you… hang in there with all the joys of Thing 1 and Thing 2!!! LOL – I love it!

    God Bless, HL

  17. Kat Says:

    Hi! Party’s over, but just want to tell you I enjoyed this post.

    I laughed at how Mr. Cat in the Hat was present for the conception. Hahaha. We’re so self-sufficient we can almost self-pollinate!

    Hope we can be friends. -Kat of Raising Boys (i’v been making more mess than my youngest boy… since he was 3yo!)

  18. Storm Says:

    Still hopping from blog to blog… my goal is to post at each blog at least once. Nice to meet you. Happy blogging!

  19. Results from The Ultimate Blog Party 2008 Group Writing Project } Group Writing Projects Says:

    […] Girl Indie the Chick Adventures 987. Laura 988. Kim of b b n a box 989. Heather 990. Rockmama 991. Joelle @ Momma makes a mess 992. JulieMom 993. Tricia Seib 994. Our Adventurous Life 995. Kelly @ SHE-POWER 996. ~*~Little […]

Leave a Reply

