Hump Day Crafts: Flower Shaped Card

March is a busy month for birthdays in our family. We have four who married into our family who have birthdays plus one of my nieces — all within the same week. It’s enough to make a card maker jump for joy! And enough to get me to post hump day crafts a whole night early for once. Woohoo!

Here’s a card I made for one of my sisters-in-law. I wanted to try a few things I hadn’t tried before: making a circular/shaped card, using lots of patterned paper, and coloring a digistamp. Here’s the result:

Not the best photo, but you can see the idea. I cut the large flower, leaf and butterfly with my Cricut. If memory serves, the flower and leaf (stem cut off with scissors) were from Potpourri Basket and the butterfly from Everyday Paper Dolls. The small flower is an old die I cut with my Cuttlebug. The stamp was stamped on glossy paper with a resist ink and then rubbed with a dye ink. (Also a new technique for me.)

To make the card, I cut two large flowers and scored the top petal on both (although now I know I just needed to score the back flower) and glued together above the score. I put the leaf on to keep it from rolling when stood on a flat surface. Plus, I liked the brightness the green added. I used a variety of foam dots to add some depth. And I used glitter, which is rare for me.

Oh, and the digistamp? It’s on the inside. It’s a free sample from Whimsie Doodles.

I’m still new at coloring stamps, so I just have a few decent pencils and some odorless mineral spirits. I figure I’ll learn to blend better (after I buy more pencils or markers!), but even now I’m hooked! Bring on the coloring books, I see quality coloring time with my kids in the near future.

As a unexpected bonus, I get to do something else new with this card. Participate in a challenge! Want to see the other happy spring-y flower cards? Head on over to Fantabulous Cricut  blog!

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Hump Day Crafts: Flower Shaped Card”

  1. Angi Says:

    Love the butterfly on your flower card. So cute. Thanks for playing with us at Fantabulous Cricut.

  2. Candace Says:

    What a GREAT shape card! Thanks for joining us at FCCB! 🙂

  3. val Says:

    Adorable card!! It is so fun trying new techniques, that turtle is a cutie:) Thanks for playing along at Fantabulous Cricut!

  4. Penny Says:

    What a great idea! I like the combining coloring time with your kids, you with your pencils them with theirs. I like the shape of this card and I think you’re doing a great job with the coloring, isn’t it fun!! Thanks for joining up for the challenge at Fantabulous Cricut. 🙂

  5. Tammy Says:

    I always love flower shaped cards! Great job and THANKS for playing along with FCCB this week.

  6. THCEO Says:

    Very sweet! I love the shaped card…oh so cute. Thanks for playing along at FCCB! 🙂

Leave a Reply

