Hump Day Crafts: Birthday cards

Things have been busy (aren’t they always), but I thought I’d do a quick post of a couple more birthday cards I made for family members back in March.

The first was for my brother-in-law, so it’s a little more masculine than some I post on here. I was playing with a new Cuttlebug folder and some aluminum foil. I mostly added the foil, so I could play with my new alcohol inks from Tim Holtz. I have no idea what I’m doing with them. LOL

I also was playing with my new Dymo embossing label maker I picked up at my local Goodwill. The front says “Do the math” and the inside says “you’re getting old” with the same paper sanded labeling. It’s a little family joke, since I’m 6 months older than him.

The other card was for my sister-in-law, who I picked up a gift card for. I wanted to make a card that would hold the card, and match it, since it was covered in shiny flowers. I found a pop-up idea somewhere (sorry, can’t remember to give credit where it’s due), and thought I’d try it with a cut out to show off the gift card.

The finished card is 4″x6″ and is made from a 6″x12″ piece of cardstock. It’s scored at 4″, 6″ and 8″, so it can be folded, slit and glued to make the pop-up piece.

For this card, I had to cut the circles carefully. I used my Fiskars shape cutter with circle template. The front is decorated with various Quickutz squeeze dies, some colored with Perfect Pearls pigments used as paint. I also used them on the embossed stamped butterfly. The grass is handcut. I did have to create my own template for an envelope for 4×6 cards, but we’ll save envelopes for another day.

Happy crafting!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

