Hump day crafts: Renewing my romance with Cricut

No, I’m not using my Cricut to renew my romance with The Cat (he’s gone for awhile anyway), but I purchased some new software that’s making me fall in love with my Cricut all over again: SCAL 2.0! With it, I can cut basically anything I want. It imports SVGs and can trace JPGs, so there’s really no limit now to what I can do. I’ve already been playing around in Illustrator designing things I want to cut. Unfortunately, sometimes work gets in the way of crafting. That’s why I decided to combine the two last week. I needed a sign to put up on stage during the Bremerton Symphony’s pre-concert chats. So I used my freebie vinyl from a friend who works in a sign shop and put together this:

Pre-concert chat sign

The title at the top in blue and the BSA logo at the bottom were cut on my Cricut. It was a good learning experience. I had to measure carefully and take my time “weeding” out all of the extra vinyl on that logo. At smaller sizes I lose the tiny letters spelling “Association” underneath, but since this was 18 inches wide, I was able to save all of them. Boy am I looking forward to playing with my new toy! Happy crafting!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

