Hump day crafts: Horton hears a who wall vinyl

Finally, news of my Cricut skills have traveled far and wide. Well, at least as far as my sister’s mother-in-law.

It seems she had promised her daughter a wall vinyl decoration for an grandson’s upcoming birthday party. She had the graphics, bought special vinyl, and … then her computer died. So she called in the cavalry. Me.

They wanted a Dr. Seuss quote from Horton Hears a Who. That part was easy, using SCAL and the Dr. Soos font. But Horton, well that was another story. I could not find a clean Horton that I felt would cut well from a white flocked and matte black vinyl. That’s when I called in the cavalry. My Smartbuygal forum friends. And they came through for me with a great Horton. (You can see the thread here.)

I cut Horton out of the white flocked vinyl (from Quickutz) and weeded out all the areas that were black in the original graphic. To make sure it would show up on any background, I had to bring the original graphic into Photoshop and fill it in so I could trace the outline in SCAL. That way I had a solid Horton to cut from black vinyl. I also drew a little clover for the who. Here’s how I turned out after weeding and layering.

They loved it, especially since the white on black actually made Horton look gray! They liked it so much that after the party they took it and put it on her grandson’s wall. (Gotta love removable vinyl!) And here’s a photo they sent me of it on the wall:

And my payment, besides the exhilaration from using the cricut skills for good? I got to keep the extra vinyl. Now to spend hours thinking about what to do with it. Oh the possibilities!

Happy crafting!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

