Food Friday: walking tacos

Hey ho, there Web world wanderers! My finished posts have been infrequent, but I have a bunch of drafts I’ve been working on that will be up soon. I just have to finish up the photos and decide if I should backdate them to when I actually wrote them. Ah, the difficult decisions of a blog owner. But all that is neither here nor there for you, so let’s get to what you’re here for: walking tacos.

How have I missed these? According to Urban Dictionary, they were on Letterman back in 2007. But I didn’t hear about them until last month. I read about them over on my favorite forum, SmartBuyGal, and, although details were sparse, thought it was a brilliant idea for our Nine O’clock New Year’s Eve Party. (At 9p.m. here, we can watch the ball drop on the east coast internet feeds.) In a very uncharacteristic move, I did not google it at all before the party. Simply bought some small bags of chips and taco toppings. Getting all Fritos bags was difficult, so we had a choice of Fritos, a couple kinds of Doritos, plus whatever else came in the pack. It was a hit! So much so that we’re having them again this weekend at a baby shower.

I totally forgot to take any photos at the party, but I did snap this photo (with Thing 2’s impatient hand sneaking in for his cup) a week later. The Cat was gone for dinner and I didn’t want to put a lot of effort into cooking for a hungry Thing 1 and a picky Thing 2, so we did 2 minute walking tacos by crushing up chips in a cup and adding Old El Paso Tortilla Stuffers and some nacho cheese. Quick and easy!

 

quick and easy walking tacos

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

