Hump day crafts: drawing digistamps

I mentioned my new drawing tablet in the baby shower post earlier. My wonderful sister got it for my for Christmas. It’s not one of those expensive brand name ones, thank goodness, because it’s affordable and works great!! (Find it here.) I’ve been wanting to work on my drawing skills and this is perfect for it. I do my drawing in Illustrator, because I’m not so good at it and it helps me hide that fact.

So, now I’ve got my drawing tablet, but I was either too lazy or too busy to do any drawing. Then up on my radar popped a digital drawing challenge. Over at the Crafters’ Digital Art Center (which I had joined awhile ago) they started challenges for anyone — even beginning artists — to enter digistamps. I was too chicken last month, but I’m gonna put some up this month. Yup, that’s what I’m gonna do. Uh-huh. Alright, already, I’ll just do it. The theme this month is “Critter Comedy or Crazy Characters”. Here’s the first simple one I drew with a baby bird checking out the new arrival:

Simple, yes? Still, I like it. I’m kind of working on trying out different styles I like to see what ones I really feel like I can pull off. My next one was based on a tutorial (like the earlier baby) from DragoArt.  Yes, I’m working through the kids section. Those other ones are really hard! So here’s my crabby valentine:

crabby valentine watermarked

Silly, yes? Well, maybe that’s my style. I guess time will only tell. For a bonus use, I’m using this crab on The Cat’s Valentine’s day card:

You can join CDAC to check out all the other digistamps and even join in the challenge. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

