Back to school, back to blogging

I guess I took the summer off from blogging. The spring too, if you look at the date of the last post. It’s not that I haven’t been doing fantastic things I’d love to blog about. It’s more that I’ve been so busy doing fantastic things that I haven’t had time to blog. That and I’m lazy. But I’m sure that’s a secondary reason. Pretty sure, anyway.

So what have we been busy doing? Well, we started hiking with the kids. Which, in reality, means that we went out 2-3 days this summer and hiked — sometimes driving hours for that perfect view (and lots of DVD time in the car).  Still, that’s 2-3 days I couldn’t blog, plus a few more because I was fiddling with Photoshop actions, which I discovered this summer. Why, yes, you can see the results of both:

No, my camera can’t actually capture that blue of the mountains. But Lovely & Ethereal and Boost actions from Pioneer Woman can.

We also did a lot of sports. Thing 1 tried basketball in the spring. She surprised everyone (herself included) by making 2 baskets during the season. Not bad for a first grader. And, of course, soccer. I may not have mentioned it, but I’ve been part of a soccer family for over 30 years. And so my husband and kids are stuck being part of a soccer family, too. Things 1&2 are a little small to travel to tournaments every weekend (thank goodness!), but we still had practices and mini Wednesday tournaments every week. Some weeks the kids liked it:

and some weeks, not so much:

But even though they don’t always want to play, they always want to socialize. This was our first real summer full of playdates. Here, there, everywhere. Playdates don’t lend themselves well to blogging time. But the kids do enjoy them.

Yes, there have been other things. The Cat is on shore duty, so hanging out with him is up near the top of the list. Oh, there are plenty of other things up there too: work, crafts, cleaning, landscaping…the list goes on. But today the school bell rang the death knell of summer.

Which marks a whole new list of things I need to get to. Hopefully, blogging will make it to the top of that list occasionally.

One Response to “Back to school, back to blogging”

  1. Lyn Says:

    Hi Joelle,
    I followed your link from priscillastyles digital drawing challenge. You have a nice writting style, but I fully understand why you haven’t blogged more… life is busy with children! Time with your children is very important.

Leave a Reply

