Hump day crafts: drawing digistamps again

I’ve been working on drawing again — even though it’s my busy season at work, and I really should be spending time doing design and layouts. But there’s always the night before the deadline, right? I’ve been doing a few more tutorials, plus some work with Zenspirations. It’s fun, but I needed to see if I could draw something on my own. My biggest problem is scale. That and where to put limbs on humans and animals. I figured out that if I was having problems I could refer to a photo without actually tracing it. One problem solved (at least partially).

CDAC is having a digistamp challenge this month with a pets with fall (autumn) theme. I submitted a cat jumping after a leaf, but it was disqualified as being too close to the tutorial I followed. Still, I was pretty proud, since I had made some minor changes to the cat:

cat with leaf watermarked

I was pretty happy with it, and being disqualified almost made me walk away from the whole thing. Who was I to think I was talented enough to share my original art, anyway? But, after more thought, I decided to try again. Here’s what I came up with:

Autumn girl with dog watermarkedI can’t say it’s the best thing out there, but I like it. In part because it’s so personal. The idea came from a set of photos from a long time ago, although I shared one just last year. No, it wasn’t autumn (or maybe it was — hard to tell in Hawaii), and they were facing away from the camera, but the photos captured a sweet moment between my daughter and her best friend. Maybe if I can get inspired by moments like this more often I could come up with a lot more original ideas. Well, after I get caught up with work that is.

Happy crafting!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Hump day crafts: drawing digistamps again”

  1. Charlene Says:

    Oh my goodness these are just adorable! It’s too bad that your first one got disqualified, but I’m so happy for you that you decided to try again because your second one is just to adorable! And believe me, it is just as good as anything else that is being put out there. I’m sure that your dd will be so happy to be able to have this wonderful image of her and her best friend. So, just my personal opinion, but I think that when you have the time you should let the inspiration take hold…you never know what you might come up with 😀

    Hugs ~ Charlene

  2. Jackie Scott Says:

    Looks to me like – one of life’s happy moments! Beautiful drawing.

Leave a Reply

